DisabledFemme

is creating zines + fibre art
Select a membership level
$1
per month
Thank you so much for becoming a supporter on my Patreon & helping support my ever evolving art! You are awesome!! 
$2
per month
For just $2 or more per month, you get access to all my Patreon Only feed posts! That includes status updates, art and writing WIPs, blog updates, drawings, paintings and embroidery! Yes, that's right, you'll get access to my private feed & see projects I'm working on before anyone else!
$4
per month
You will recieve all lower tier rewards.

You also recieve:
  • complete access to My Online Zine Library! access to full size, large, mini zine & micro-mini zine PDFs you can download, read, print for personal use & treasure forever!
  • a 5% off coupon for my etsy shop *limit one use per month* 

2

patrons

$7

per month

About DisabledFemme

Hi, I'm Kat aka disabledfemme! 
I'm a 24 y/o disabled 2spirit métis nonbinary femme living near Toronto, ON, Canada.
I'm a multimedia artist, mainly focusing on upcycled embroidered fabric pieces & zines.
I also paint (acrylic & watercolour), crochet, sew and draw (digitally & mixed media). I'm currently teaching myself to loom knit & weave.

a lil about my art

I've spent my whole life writing & considering myself a writer. It took a near death experience in 2013 I became physically disabled & began experimenting as a multidisciplinary artist in as many different mediums as a part of my own art therapy. I'm completely self taught in all mediums. I've since then gained a love of painting, creating zines, embroidering patches, sewing stuffed animals and vests, as well as dabbling in jewelry creation, crochet & other mixed media.

My life with my chronic pain & mental illness directly informs my art and writing. I rarely see accurate queer disabled representations or accurate borderline representations & I strive to fix this & to create art that explores gender roles, disabled bodies, the binary between abled and disabled, mental illness (especially borderline personality disorder & intimate relationships between borderlines & nonborderlines), recovery & dialectical behavioral therapy themes. 

If you're interested in my art but can't be a patreon, consider visiting my etsy shop! Thank you for all yr support & interest!

a lil extra about me

Born in Southern Ontario, Canada in 1991. Speaks english & is learning French & Hungarian. Diagnosed with C-PTSD, depression, anxiety, borderline personality disorder, fibromyalgia, chronic pain, arthritis. I take pain medication daily. I use many different mobility aids such as a cane, a rollator, a bath bar, a reacher/grabber. 

After my near death experience & complete change in my life, I threw myself into my art and into a "recovery-centric" mode where I am constantly attempting to radically accept where I am at while also attempting to always better myself & my life. I feel that my art directly helps me achieve that & explore topics that are important to me.

Goals
$7 of $100 per month
It costs me 100$ a month in transportation to my twice weekly outpatient therapy program, which helps me to stay healthy, stable and able to create! When I reach this goal, that transportation will be totally paid for ensuring I don't have to stress! Thank you so much!
1 of 3

Recent posts by DisabledFemme